During versus After

Posted: January 24, 2013 in Goals
Tags: , , , ,

This time of year it is very common to come across pictures on the web of people beginning their newly resolved fitness journeys. I have mad respect for people who are willing to throw public scorn to the wind and post pictures of themselves in various stages of being dressed all the while showing more skin than they might otherwise display.
These brave souls will put “BEFORE” underneath their pictures to be sure that no one believes that these are their destination photos, but more of a “here i am, at my worst, and then i’ll get better”. I really admire this. I don’t think that I could ever do it. I mean, I’m relatively healthy, and I won’t even go shirtless at the beach or local swimming hole. I get the whole concept of the “BEFORE” picture.
What I DON’T understand are the “AFTER” pictures. Think about it. If you are on a fitness journey for whatever reason, my suspicion is that EVERY DAY is part of the journey. I don’t know of anyone who is “done”. Every day we’re shufflin’ to either improve or maintain. We aren’t finished; the wellness/fitness lifestyle is a work in progress.
Here’s my challenge to all of us:
If you have before and after pictures on your blog/FB/locker/dashboard…change the caption on the “AFTER” picture to read “DURNING”. I believe that it will serve to remind all of us that the journey has no appreciable end. The only REAL “AFTER” picture would look like this:

Crypt Keeper "AFTER"

Crypt Keeper “AFTER”

Comments
  1. Sarah C says:

    Absolutely true! If fitness is a journey, not a destination, there really only is a “during.”

Leave a Reply

