Happy Trails, Happy Gene

Posted: January 10, 2013 in Running
Tags: , ,

Recently I was able to get outside during the day and enjoy a few sunny miles of snowmobile trail running. I’ve been eyeing a trail that runs below a power line near my house for a while, but never took the time to explore it during the non snow month(s). Today I took the time to do it, and I was not disappointed!

I accessed it from a closed road that goes to the reservoir up behind Annalise North, a road that I have run on several times including this past Christmas Day. Instead of continuing up and around the lake, I took a right and headed south along the well packed trail. Up, up, up it went, then down a little. Then back up. Level, then up again. Not really ALL that steep, except in one spot, so it was runnable. I continued south until the trail ended in someone’s backyard. It may have gone farther (further?) than that, but I’d gone just over 1.5 miles, and that was far enough for today.

The weather was perfect, and my clothing choice was spot on. I had long socks, my Sugoi lightweight tights, a pair of shorts over them (modesty and wind protection? CHECK!), long sleeve tech shirt, bright yellow Brooks running jacket, light weight beanie, and light weight gloves. I will admit that I was a bit chilled at the beginning of the run, but less than 15 minutes in I was doing just right. Any more layers would have been too much. I ran without gloves for the last half mile or so (REBEL!). OH! hahaha…yes. Brooks Cascadia 7’s, Outdoor Research short gaiters, and katoola micro-spikes. They worked splendidly, as I expected.2013-01-10_14-04-40_701

I’m very glad I went out today. I’ve been sitting around here way too much lately, and that really needs to change. Thing is, I am the only person who can make that happen. Happy that I did. Here’s to many more!

Comments
  1. jen says:

    GO GENE GO!!!

Leave a Reply

