How will I be different? #FitFluential

Posted: December 31, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: , ,

Lately it seems that everyone and their brother are becoming personal trainers, massage therapists, nutrition counselors, or social media gurus.

Hi. My name is Gene, and I just signed up to get my personal trainer certification through NASM. That’s right. I had a sip of the kool-aid and I’m hooked. Do I plan to make a career of being a CPT? No. Do i think that it could be a good side business? Sure. I like to think of it as a hobby that pays me back, and one that I can use to pay it forward. I signed up this past Friday, even though I was going to wait until after the first of the year to pay. By the end of the day, I’d received several emails from NASM welcoming me to the family, etc, etc, etc. Nice people there. Then later in the evening I received an email that listed shipping information for items…to be shipped. (?) Anyway, imagine my sheer excitement when I read the list of items:

CPT4001001 CPT 4th Edition Welcome Letter 1 12/28/2012
CPT4104001 CPT 4th-Essentials of Personal Fitness Training Textbook 1 12/28/2012
MER1011026 NASM Backpack 1 12/28/2012
MER1011027 Packaging, Locker Box 1 12/28/2012

Which one do you think got me the MOST excited? (hint: NOT the welcome letter….)

That’s RIGHT!!! The BACKPACK! I neeeeeed another one. Must.Have. I hoard them, actually. I think that I own 5 at the moment. Used to be 6, but then the dog (few years back) decided that it looked like a green fire hydrant, and, well….i had to retire it. Pity, too, because that one was a HUGE pack from L.L.Bean.

So yes, my journey to becoming a(nother) CPT has begun. I wonder that if, like most people taking Psych 101, i’ll see ‘myself’ in just about every aspect of training. That will be interesting, for sure. I also think that I’ll find many, many instances where I say, “I THOUGHT SO!”

Be sure and join me, won’t you, on this fantastic journey. We’ll be glad you did.

Comments
  1. JogBlog says:

    Good luck (with everything)!

  2. Caroline says:

    This is so exciting for you, and I hope that you enjoy your training! I’m excited to follow along.

Leave a Reply

